June 2019 Reading Challenge Update: Weeks 23-26

110 Shares

Time for the monthly reading challenge update. Find out how Rachael fared this month in her quest to read a book a week, and what book categories are coming up next month.

The year is basically half over. How is your 2019 Reading Challenge coming along?

If you are ahead of the game or right on track like me, then congrats!

If you have fallen behind, then no worries. As long as you are having fun and diversifying your reading, then it doesn’t matter if you read all 52 categories. It’s all about the journey.

I’ve decided this will be my last Reading Challenge Update. I recently started reviewing my monthly reading, and it seems a bit pointless to have a separate Reading Challenge update, when I already reviewed these books in my June Reading Roundup.

Thus, next month, I’ll just separate out my reading challenge selections as part of my July Reading Roundup. You get the same info (plus the low down on all the other books I read that month), but I don’t have to do quite as much work. I have some big plans going forward, so this will free up some time for me. 

As always, I’d love to hear what you’re reading this month!

← May 2019 Update

This post contains affiliate links, meaning if you purchase anything, at no additional cost to you, we receive a small commission. For more information, read our Disclosures.

June: Books 23-26

Book cover for A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
by Betty Smith

23. Classic You’ve Never Read: A classic coming-of-age story that has enchanted readers for decades, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn chronicles young teen Francie Nolan as she grows up in the slums of Brooklyn. Covering poverty and the American dream, Betty Smith’s masterpiece points out the struggles of the poor families of the early 20th century. Yet, the enduring message of this classic book is one of hope for the future. I quickly fell in love with Smith’s endearing novel and loved learning about life in Brooklyn was like a century ago. A 5-Star Read for me. ★★★★★ Read more →

Related: A Tree Grows in Brooklyn Discussion Questions

 

Book cover for The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

The Silent Patient
by Author

24. Book That Will Keep You Up All Night: One night, famous painter Alicia Berenson shoots her husband in the face 5 times, and then never utters another word again. Now criminal psychotherapist Theo Faber is determined to get the truth from this silent patient while his own life unravels around him. With rave reviews and weeks spent on the New York Times’s Bestselling Fiction List, I was hoping this February 2019 release would keep me up all night. Spoiler alert: It did not, though I did like the twist at the end. ★★★

Related: 19 Gripping Books You Can’t Put Down Once You Begin

 

book cover Heavy by Kiese Laymon

Heavy
by Kiese Laymon

25. 2018 Bestseller: Apparently, Kiese Laymon’s book was a bit too heavy for me. I honestly didn’t know much about this book except that it was a 2018 bestseller. When I selected it, I was expecting a memoir about the difficulties of obesity in the vein of Roxane Gay’s Hunger. Thus, I was not prepared for the accounts of violence, both sexual and physical, in the very first chapters. While I wouldn’t necessarily discourage you from reading it, I must admit that this bestseller was not for me.  DNF

Related: Best Books 2018: Last Year’s Most Popular Books

 

book cover Polio by David M. Oshinsky

Polio
by David M. Oshinsky

26. Nonfiction Book About Science: Now, almost eradicated throughout the world, Polio once terrorized the US population. In his Pulitzer Prize-winning book, David Oshinksy tells the fascinating history of polio. Mixing in a powerful portrait of the victims of polio with the long history of the scientific revelations leading to a vaccine, Oshinksy informs while also engaging the reader. Yet, where Oshinsky really hits it out of the park is his revealing look at how the March of Dimes revolutionized marketing, fundraising and scientific research. All in all, a great read for anyone who loves history or science. ★★★★

 

Up Next in July

Time to pick out some more books! Here are the categories for the July Reading Challenge:

27. Listen to an audiobook

28. Set in Your Home State

29. Started But Never Finished

30. One Word Title

31. Fairy Tale Retelling

What books did you read this month for the 2019 Reading Challenge?

June 2019 Reading Challenge Update

110 Shares
Previous Post Next Post

You Might Also Like

2 Comments

  • Reply Kelly Enright July 2, 2019 at 5:33 pm

    I cannot believe the year is half over! I have managed to complete 27 of the 52 categories so far, and 30 books in total! Here’s my June Recap:
    ~ A book from the Rory Gilmore Challenge – The Secret Life of Bees by Sur Monk Kidd (5 stars)
    ~ A book with a cover that is your favourite colour – The Arrangement by Robyn Harding (5 stars)
    ~ A book you own but haven’t read – The Gifts of Imperfection by Brene Brown (4 stars)

    Books that didn’t fall into any category
    Distant Shores/Between Sisters/Magic Hour by Kristin Hannah (3 stars)
    Summer Hours by Amy Mason Doan (3 stars)

    I have definitely jumped on the e-book bandwagon, having purchased several books, as well as, obtained a few ARCs to read for July. This past week I also decided to get a library membership, with the hope of supporting our small town establishment. I was lucky enough to find Becoming by Michelle Obama available, so will be reading that in July.

    • Reply Rachael July 6, 2019 at 1:58 pm

      You are in for a treat. Becoming is so good!

    Leave a Reply