The Fifth Season by N. K. Jemisin

This post contains affiliate links, meaning if you purchase anything, at no additional cost to you, we receive a small commission. For more information, read our Disclosures.

The Fifth Season by N. K. Jemisin

The Fifth Season
by N. K. Jemisin

Series: Broken Earth Book 1
Length: 512 pages
Audiobook Length: 15 hours and 27 minutes
First Published: 2015

Pingel Sisters's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

Publisher’s Description

This is the way the world ends…for the last time.

A season of endings has begun.

It starts with the great red rift across the heart of the world’s sole continent, spewing ash that blots out the sun.

It starts with death, with a murdered son and a missing daughter.

It starts with betrayal, and long dormant wounds rising up to fester.

This is the Stillness, a land long familiar with catastrophe, where the power of the earth is wielded as a weapon. And where there is no mercy.

Quotes from The Fifth Season

“For all those that have to fight for the respect that everyone else is given without question.”

“Home is what you take with you, not what you leave behind.”

“Who misses what they have never, ever even imagined?”

“When the reasoning mind is forced to confront the impossible again and again, it has no choice but to adapt.”

“This is what you must remember: the ending of one story is just the beginning of another.”

About N. K. Jemisin

Nora K. Jemisin is an author of speculative ficition, short stories and novels. She was the first author to win three Hugo Awards in a row for her Broken Earth trilogy. Her works include the Broken Earth trilogy (The Fifth Season, The Obelisk Gate, and The Stone Sky), the Dreamblood Duology; and The Inheritance Trilogy. She currently lives in Brooklyn, New York.  Visit the author’s website →

Featured Lists

Come join us in April as we continue our book club! Next up, our April book club pick is The Fifth Season by N. K. Jemisin.


Other Books You Might Like

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

Red Rising by Pierce Brown